News Photo
Basketball - Mon, Mar. 13, 2017

2016-17 Women's Basketball NAIA Scholar-Athletes2016-17 Men's Basketball NAIA Scholar-Athletes

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association for Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) released the list of 2016-17 Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athletes on Monday morning and six Viterbo University basketball players corralled the honor. 

In order to receive scholar-athlete recognition, students must be of junior academic status and hold a minimum grade point average of 3.5 or better.

The V-Hawks women's squad had a successful year in the classroom as they recorded a GPA of 3.50 as a team. In addition to Heidi Huebner (JR/Hortonville, Wis.)'s strong academics in her sport management and leadership major, the junior made an impact on the court, appearing in all 31 games and leading Viterbo with 38 three-point field goals made. Bailey Jones (SR/Yorkville, Ill.) started 25 games and led the V-Hawks in assists while collecting her first scholar-athlete honor with her work towards a dietetics degree. Payton Klaas (JR/Yorkville, Ill.) also garnered an award for her success in Elementary Education.  

On the men's side, Jake Bamke (SR/Hortonville, Wis.), Erik Engelstad (SR/Cambridge, Wis.), and Ethin Kiekhafer (SO/Colfax, Wis.) were awarded scholar-athlete honors. Bamke has been a leader all year for Viterbo and continued that trend in the classroom. The senior started all 30 games and led the V-Hawks in scoring while picking up his second NAIA Scholar-Athlete award with his work in marketing. Engelstad, the team's leading rebounder, also earned his second honor and will graduate with a Spanish degree. Kiekhafer played some vital minutes in 26 games for the V-Hawks and maintained a solid GPA in his biology major as he earned his first award.

So far in the 2016-17 school year, 20 student-athletes have been awarded a Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athlete award. 

© Copyright 2017 Viterbo University | 400 Viterbo Drive, La Crosse, WI 54601 | Mobile Site | Rss Feeds | Powered by SIDHelp